Appointment of permanent vice-chancellors in Liaquat and Larkana Medical Universities after a long time

Liaquat University of Medical and Health Sciences Jamshoro and Larkana Medical University have got a permanent vice chancellor after a long time.

In this regard, Secretary Boards and Universities Department Mureed Rahman has issued a notification for the appointment of Prof. Ikramuddin Ajan as Liaquat Medical University Jamshoro and Prof. Nusrat Shah as Larkana Medical University.

For these two universities, the search committee had sent three names to the Chief Minister of Sindh, Dr. Ikramuddin Ajan was the first in Liaquat Medical University while Prof. Nusrat Shah was second for Larkana Medical University.

VCs have been appointed for four years in both the universities. Professor Ikramuddin Ajan was working as acting VC for the last one and a half years.

However, the process of appointing vice-chancellors in 7 universities is still pending, in which the most problematic was the appointment of the vice-chancellor of Larkana Medical University, which had become a political issue.

The Sindh High Court canceled the notification of junior professor Hakeem Abro as Acting Vice-Chancellor, while the government did not appoint the three most senior professors there as Vice-Chancellors.

Due to which Larkana University was working without an Acting VC for the last three months and the Registrar Rauf Khaskheli was running the affairs there quietly.

During this time, fake appointments were also made and excessive billings were also received. The situation can be estimated from the fact that the name of junior professor and acting vice chancellor Hakim Ali Abaro, who was removed on the orders of the Sindh High Court, is listed on the university’s website. remained and Registrar Rauf Khaskheli had not removed it.